Hey There Michael, You Sure Have Linked Me to a Website, What’s This All About?!

According to the following list, I have sixty games on Steam. I’m not including things like Aseprite or GameMaker here, and I haven’t counted any DLC. I have also excluded games that are exclusively multiplayer, like Apex Legends or Among Us, because it’s my list and I can exclude whatever I like, and also because I have no friends. Not a crime!

The point of this list is that on a personal level I am having a little bit of a ‘personal crisis’, insofar as I spent five years learning how to write at university and did absolutely nothing with that knowledge besides write about music for free for exactly five minutes. Pretty cool use of $30,000 in my opinion! Due to my incredibly lardge brain, I finished this half-decade of university and decided that no, I had not in fact suffered quite enough, and enrolled in law school. I’ve just finished my first year, and while I sort of like it… sometimes… it is an insane drain on all creative thought. At first I enjoyed the fact that it was a lot more black and white than a creative writing degree – that there could actually be a right answer – but over time I’ve grown to hate that aspect. Maybe it’s because I’m a very special boy who could never be wrong? It’s hard to say really.

Anyway, something I’ve been doing to numb the pain of being forced to have thoughts is buying games and then not playing them. This is in part because I’m an idiot who has no concept of the value of money, in part because the only thing I play is Overwatch, and in part because I am ‘somewhat mentally ill’, which is an easy out for pretty much any situation. What’s really cool is that this has led to the idea that in theory, I could never be bored – I’ve got so many games to play. Since I got my PC approximately a year ago, have played four (4) games on this list for more than five hours. I have played Overwatch for six-hundred-and-seventy-one (671) hours. I am still very bad at it. That’s no good.

The point of this post, and I suppose this blog, is to actually go through my ever-growing Steam library and play some games, and then write about them because I currently don’t have the capacity to write short stories. I’m not really sure what form that the individual pieces will take but that’s part of the fun – I will endeavour to make sure that it’s not sixty very dry text reviews. I also can’t really anticipate how long this is going to take; I study full-time, I love my wife, and I occasionally hang out with other people that I care about. But – maybe check back from time to time. I will probably tell you all about it on a regular basis anyway on platforms I’m about to denounce, because I’m a hypocrite!

I’ve made this cool website with Zonelets, because it’s forcing me to actually learn how to use HTML (educational), and also because I don’t love how homogenised the internet is – there’s Facebook, Twitter and Instagram… and then what? Reddit? It’s boring! I’m bored! Even Tumblr was better than what we have going on now out here in ~cyberspace~ because it enabled the tiniest little fleck of individuality. Anyway below is the list – I suppose it will also serve as a little tl;dr as well because I’ll be linking to the individual posts here and also probably adding playtimes etc. If you’d like to check the legitimacy of my ‘playing a videogame’, just in case you think I’m faking it, my Steam name is mmhx.

Well, bye! I need to figure out how to make this accursed list display as a list!

    1. A Boy and His Blob
    2. A Short Hike
    3. Braid
    4. Cave Story+
    5. Chrono Trigger
    6. Control
    7. Costume Quest
    8. Cyberpunk
    9. Death Stranding
    10. Disgaea
    11. Divinity: Original Sin 2
    12. Doki Doki Literature Club
    13. Donut County
    14. Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
    15. Final Fantasy IV
    16. Firewatch
    17. Florence
    18. Frog Detective
    19. Frog Detective 2
    20. Gato Roboto
    21. Gunfire Reborn
    22. Hades
    23. Half Life
    24. Half Life 2
    25. Hollow Knight
    26. Hotline Miami
    27. I Am Dead
    28. Ikenfell
    29. Katamari Damacy REROLL
    30. Left 4 Dead
    31. Left 4 Dead 2
    32. Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
    33. Minit
    34. Mirror’s Edge
    35. N++
    36. Necrobarista
    37. Nier Automata
    38. Ori and the Will of the Wisps
    39. Persona 4 Golden
    40. Portal
    41. Portal 2
    42. Risk of Rain 2
    43. Rumu
    44. Slay the Spire
    45. Spelunky 2
    46. Starbound
    47. Stardew Valley
    48. Star Wars Battlefront
    49. Streets of Rogue
    50. Super Meat Boy
    51. Tales of Symphonia
    52. Terraria
    53. Skyrim
    54. The Witcher 3
    55. Titanfall 2
    56. Undertale
    57. Valheim
    58. Void Bastards
    59. Wargroove
    60. Wilmot’s Warehouse

nailed it