Cats Like Plain Crisps

This was intended to be the first 'real' entry on catslikeplaincrisps. You'll be pleased to note that the website simply Does Not Look Very Good, and that's, shockingly, on me. I'm not... particularly aesthetic-minded, and in addition to this my skills at 'website editing' aren't great -- yet! I fully intend to make this a much more aesthetically pleasurable experience. It's on the nice little list of things I need to do that I keep on Notion. As well as making the website a little prettier, I'm also going to be streaming the games I play for this blog over on Twitch! You can follow me to recieve a nice little notification whenever I go live, or failing that I will probably tweet when I do. 'Figure out why my game streams like shit and then take the necessary steps to fix it' is also on the aforementioned Notion list.

I'm probably also going to expand the concept of this blog, which was in essence 'play all the games you bought on Steam', but get this -- I've also purchased a whole bunch of games on Other Platforms and not played them (and also several more games in the Steam Summer Sale... hello Oxenfree). I am a sick man who loves to spend money on entertainment and then simply not allow it to entertain me, unless it is a "team-based 'hero shooter' developed by Blizzard Entertainment". Anyway -- I'm trying to make this a more interactive process, I guess, because I'm going to be doing it anyway so I may as well make a friend or whatever lmao.

The random list generator I used to select what I'd play first came up with Wargroove. I played it through and mostly enjoyed it! That's great! What's unfortunate is that while I was doing background research in order to create a really cool and informative review I found out about the... less great side of Chucklefish, the company that developed and published it. The issues centre around exploiting unpaid workers, including literal teenagers, which is obviously fucked. My plan is to write more about that -- ideally I'd like to interview some of the people involved if they're willing to talk about their experience. I'll also write about the games, as they're still the product of a lot of hard work on the part of the developers, who weren't the problem from what I understand so far. Obviously that's subject to change! Who knows!

So the REAL first game is going to be Persona 4 Golden. I've previously played the first ~3 hours of this game, and enjoyed it, but dropped it at some point and never really picked it back up. I'm going to be recording the entire thing and putting it up on YouTube as a Let's Play which I'll link when the first episode goes live, but I'll also be streaming it over on Twitch if you want the raw, unfiltered, completely-flailing-as-i-play-my-first-Persona-game experience. Bye!!!